Profile Statuses - How They Are Used
There are no specific rules on this but below is how most organizations approach this.
- Applicant: Indicates volunteers who have filled in the application but you have not looked at it yet.
- In Process: Indicates volunteers who you have begun to bring on board but there is still more work to do
- Accepted: Typically the volunteers that are active at least once a year
- Inactive – Short term: Indicates volunteers who may be unavailable for a short period of time (vacation, illness)
- Inactive – Long term: Indicates volunteers who may be unavailable for a longer period of time (leave of absence) but you and the volunteer still want them to be considered a part of the organization.
- Archived – No longer volunteering with you and in all likelihood, not coming back. All hours data as well as contact information, custom fields and qualifications remain as a part of their profile. If they were to log into MyVolunteerPage.com, they would not see anything related to your organization except a record of their log hours and feedback. There are 7 types of archived profiles:
- Didn’t Start
- Removed (although not really a status): Only hours logged and feedback remain in your system.
Volunteers cannot change their status, but they can “self-archive” (i.e. remove themselves from your organization) if they are resigning as a volunteer or moving out of the area.
The volunteer’s status can also be used to restrict what is visible to them when signing up for activities.
- Active: Able to log in and work within the software, potentially with the limitations put in place as a Limited Administrator
- Archived: Not able to to log into the software
Once an administrator has been archived, their status can be changed back to Active again at a later date.
- Applicant: Indicates new clients who have filled in the application (or have just been set up) but you have not looked at it yet.
- In Process: Indicates new clients who you have begun to work with but there may be further onboarding required
- Accepted: Indicates the clients that you are actively working with
- Inactive: Indicates clients who may be unavailable for a period of time
- Archived – No longer a client
- Applicant: Indicates new members that have just been set up
- In Process: Indicates new members who you have begun to work with but there may be further onboarding required
- Accepted: Indicates the members that you are actively working with
- Inactive: Indicates members who may be unavailable for a period of time
- Archived – No longer a member