Hours Log - Volunteer Permissions

Global Permissions and Settings

  1. Go to: Configuration >> Organization Settings >> General Settings
  2. In the Scheduling and Hours Settings section, set the desired options for logging hours in the organization:
    • Default Log Hours Permission (cannot log hours, can log hours with approval, can log hours without approval). This affects a volunteer logging hours from their profile in MyVolunteerPage.com
    • Default Timeclock Permission (cannot log hours, can log hours with approval, can log hours without approval). This affects a volunteer logging hours from a timeclock, either in your facility or, if you allow it, on their mobile phone.
    • The Enable volunteer mobile timeclock option lets volunteers start a timeclock on their mobile device when they go to MyVolunteerPage.mobi
    • Default Date For New Volunteer Timelog Entries (today’s date, blank date). Select whether or not the date field will be blank or populated with today’s date when volunteers log their hours.
  3. Click the [Save] button

Individual Volunteer Permissions

You can have a volunteer follow a rule that is different than the one set in Global Permissions.

  1. Start typing the volunteer’s name in the Quick Search bar near the top on the right side of the screen.
  2. Click on the volunteer’s name when it appears in the list
  3. In the “Main” tab, click on the “Miscellaneous” section
  4. In the “Volunteer” section, set the desired “Log Hours Permission” and/or “Timeclock Permission” for the volunteer
  5. Click the [Save] button

When Can a Volunteer Log Hours?

In order to log hours, a volunteer must have permission to do so, either specified at the organization level (see “Global Permissions” above) or overridden within their own profile (see “Individual Volunteer Permissions” above).

While you, as an administrator, can log hours on behalf of the volunteer for any of your activities, here are the circumstances under which a volunteer can log hours for an activity:

  • if the activity’s visibility is set to “Public”,
  • if the activity’s visibility is set based on statuses that correspond to that of the volunteer OR if the volunteer has been signed up for or assigned to the activity,
  • if the activity’s visibility is set to “Only volunteers who are signed up, assigned or on the backup list“, and ONLY if the volunteer is signed up for or assigned to the activity. With this visibility, a volunteer who is only on the backup list for the activity, will not be able to log hours for that activity.

In summary, if an organization wants its volunteers to be able to log hours without scheduling them for the activity, the activities need to be either visible by status/qualified or visible to public.

Other Tutorials Related to Hour Logs