Below, you’ll find a list of topics to help you with troubleshooting. You can click on any of the section headers below to open or close them.
The first step in filling in an application for a new volunteer is to enter contact information. Once the volunteer has done this, their profile is created. The second step involves filling in your application form (General Interests, Availability, Custom Fields, Qualifications). If the volunteer enters invalid data or does not enter required data, an error message will be generated. If the volunteer does not acknowledge and respond to the error or navigates away from the signup page, the profile will still be created, but it will not be associated with your organization. In that case, you can re-generate your signup link and send it to the volunteer, enabling them to sign up again re-using their username and password that was created in the first step.
You can still report on hours logged by a volunteer who has been removed from your organization. If, however, you can still see the volunteer’s name in a search, the likelihood is that the profile has been archived. This would still enable you to view the profile, but the volunteer would be restricted from seeing anything related to your organization (Custom Fields, Qualifications, General Interests, Availability, Activities, Contacts).
It is likely that the profile has been removed from the organization. In this case, the volunteer will not be able to see the Activities, Custom Fields, Qualifications, General Interests, Availability or Contacts associated with your organization. If a search (People >> Search) for the volunteer returns no results, you can generate a signup link (Configuration >> Links for Website) and send that to the volunteer, enabling them to sign up again with your organization (re-using their existing username and password).
The volunteer may not be associated with your organization. A volunteer may have multiple usernames and has logged in with the wrong username.
Another possibility is that there are no current or future shifts in the Activity. The Activity’s visibility settings may also be preventing them from seeing the Activity. (Note: A volunteer will be able to see an Activity to which they have been assigned.)
When volunteers click on the OPPORTUNITIES tab in MyVolunteerPage.com, they can set a variety of filters to limit which Activities display to them (by Qualified, Generally Available, Signed Up, Scheduled, Backup List). One or more of these settings may be preventing them from seeing an Activity.
If there are no current or future shifts in the Activity, a volunteer will not be able to see it or sign up for it.
The Activity’s visibility settings may also be preventing them from seeing the Activity. To diagnose why this may be happening:
- Edit the volunteer’s profile.
- Click on the “Assign” tab.
- Click on the link to the Activity. At the top of the window that opens you will see a summary to indicate that the volunteer:
- is [NOT] generally available (the relationship between the volunteer’s General Availability and the Activity’s Schedule Classifications)
- is [NOT] qualified (the relationship between the volunteer’s Qualifications and the Activity’s Qualifications)
- can [NOT] see this activity (the relationship between the volunteer’s status and Qualifications and the Activity’s visibility settings)
- By clicking on the link to either the “qualified” or “visibility” note above, you can find out why the volunteer is/isn’t qualified or why the volunteer can/can’t see the activity and then fix the problem.
(Note: A volunteer will be able to see an Activity to which they have been assigned.)
When you go to the Assign tab in a person’s profile, you will see a list of filters. If some of these filters are checked, it could be preventing you from seeing an Activity to which you would like to assign the volunteer. These filters will enable you to see Activities that:
- match a volunteer’s general availability (i.e. their general availability corresponds to days/times specified in the Activity’s shifts)
- the volunteer is qualified for (i.e. their Qualifications match those specified in the Activity)
- the volunteer has signed up for
- the volunteer has been assigned to
- the volunteer is on the backup list for
- belong to a specific Activity Category.
Also, any Activities that have been made “inactive” or have no current or future shifts will not display in this tab.
The easiest way to see who is waiting to be assigned to an activity is to click the [Pending Signups] button on your administrative home page. Alternatively, you can go to Assign >> From Pending Signup List.
You can run a report to show all volunteers who have signed up for any activity, but have yet to be assigned to it by going to Reports >> Exports / Excel Reports >> Signup Detail Export.
If you want to see who has signed up for a specific activity but has yet to be assigned to it, you can run a search:
- Go to: People >> Search
- Select the desired volunteer status(es)
- Click the [Add Search Criteria] button
- Search Type: “Activity” [this is the first part of the search]
- In “Schedule Status”, check the “Signed Up” box
- Scroll down to the “For the following activities” section and select the desired Activity
- Click the [Add] button
- Search Type: “Activity” [this is the second part of the search]
- In “Schedule Status”, check the “Not Assigned” box
- Scroll down to the “For the following activities” section and select the desired Activity (i.e. the one you chose in step 6, above)
- Click the [Add and Go] button
With various programs you use on your computer, you may want to have the username and password saved so that they are entered automatically when you visit a website. This is a feature that can be enabled in your browser. This functionality, however, is not advised on a public computer, such as a Timeclock.
Here is how to change your internet browser settings to ensure that usernames and passwords are never saved.
1. Click on the Menu icon (the icon is 3 lines stacked on top of each other on the far right side)
2. Click Options (the icon is a “gear” symbol)
3. Click Security (the icon is a “lock” symbol)
4. On this page, under “Logins” make sure “Remember logins for sites” is NOT checked.
5. Click “Saved Logins” if there are any logins in the list and then remove them.
1. Click the Menu icon (the icon is 3 lines stacked on top of each other, on the far right side)
2. Type “password” in the search box.
3. Make sure “Offer to save your password” is NOT checked.
4. Click “Manage Passwords”
5. Delete all the passwords in the “Saved Passwords” List by mousing over them, and clicking the X.
1. Click the Menu icon (the icon is a “gear” symbol)
2. Click “Internet Options”
3. Click “Content”
4. Click the “Settings” button in the AutoComplete section.
5. In the popup that comes up, make sure “Usernames and passwords on forms” is NOT checked.
6. Click “Delete Autocomplete history”
7. Make sure “Form Data” and “Passwords” are checked and then click “delete”. It is probably a good idea to check all of the options there.
Looking for something else?
Enter your keywords and press Enter.