eLearning Modules - Create/ Edit / Delete

What are eLearning Modules?

Administrators can create eLearning Modules that contain training resources a series of multiple choice questions for their volunteers to answer online. These Modules are associated with a Qualification so, upon successful completion of the Module, the associated Qualification in the volunteer’s profile is updated with the level defined in the Module. If the volunteer fails the Module (based on the passing grade you assign to it), they’ll be able to retake it.

If the Module is associated with a Qualification that has an expiry date, you’ll be able to specify the number of months until their Qualification level expires and how many days before that expiry that they may re-take the Module.

eLearning Modules are ideal for organizations that need their volunteers to complete some form of online training, orientation, or onboarding process in order to qualify them for your Activities.

Modules can contain text, images, and videos that a volunteer needs to watch as part of their eLearning experience with your organization.

There are also Limited Admin permissions for viewing and managing eLearning Modules.

Create a New Module

  1. Go to: Configuration >> eLearning Modules
  2. Click the [Add New eLearning Module] button (or click the “+” button in the Modules header)
  3. Enter the attributes of the Module:
    1. Module: enter the name of the Module (maximum 200 characters). This name will also be visible to volunteers that take the Module.
    2. Internal Notes [optional]: enter any notes about the Module that you only want administrators to see
    3. Qualification: select the Qualification that is associated with the Module
    4. Qualification Level: select the desired Qualification Level to be applied to the volunteer’s profile upon successful completion of the Module
    5. If the Qualification has an expiry date associated with it:
      1. Valid For Months: enter a number of months that a correct response is valid for. This will set up the expiry date for the Qualification.
      2. Retake Module Days: enter a number of days before the volunteer’s Qualification expires that the volunteer can re-take the Module (e.g. If you enter a value of 10 days, and a volunteer’s Qualification expires on 30 September 2018, they will be allowed to take the Module on 20 September 2018 in order to update their expiry date.)
    6. Passing Score (Percentage): enter the passing score (expressed as a percentage) that a volunteer needs in order to pass the Module
    7. Passed Message [optional]: this message will be displayed to the volunteer if they pass the Module
      • The default for this message is: “Congratulations, you have successfully completed [Module Name]!”
    8. Failed Message [optional]: this message will be displayed to the volunteer if they fail the Module
      • The default for this message is: “Sorry, it looks like you did not answer enough questions correctly.”
    9. Inactive Message [optional]: this message will be displayed to the volunteer if the Module is not active
      • The default for this message is: “Sorry, [Module Name] is not currently available.”
    10. Already Has Qualification Message [optional]: this message will be displayed to the volunteer if they already have the Qualification value associated with the Module
      • The default for this message is: “It looks like you already have this qualification and do not need to complete [Module Name].”
  4. Click the [Save] button

Add a Section

  1. Go to: Configuration >> eLearning Modules
  2. From the [Options] button to the left of a Module, select “Add New Section”
  3. Enter the attributes of the section:
    • Internal Name: give the section a name (maximum 100 characters). This will not be visible to your volunteers.
    • Content: enter what the volunteer will see for this section when taking the Module. Since this is a Rich Text Editor field, it can contain text, images, and/or videos.
    • This section has a question: Check this box if this section will contain a question for your volunteers to answer. (You’ll then need to add potential responses for them. If this section is for informational or display purposes only (i.e. not a question), do not check this box.)
    • If the section has a question, start by entering the first potential answer in the box beside the letter “a.”.
    • Click the [Add Answer] button to add another potential answer for the question (if you have checked the box above in step 3), and enter the desired text
    • Repeat step 5 (above) to create more answers
    • Optional: Drag and drop the answers to re-arrange them, if necessary
  4. Click the button (o) to the right of the correct answer to your question
  5. Click the [Save] button

Deleting Answers:

Answers can be deleted by clicking on the [Delete] button (“X”) to the right of the answer.

Active Status

  1. Go to: Configuration >> eLearning Modules
  2. From the [Options] button to the left of a Module, select “Set to Active” (or “Set to Inactive”)

OR

  1. Go to: Configuration >> eLearning Modules
  2. From the [Options] button to the left of a Module, select “Edit”
  3. Check the “Active” checkbox
  4. Click the [Save] button

NOTE:

In order to make a Module active, it needs to have at least one Section in it.

Preview Module

  1. Go to: Configuration >> eLearning Modules
  2. From the [Options] button to the left of a Module, select “Preview”. You’ll see the Module (with each section numbered automatically for you) as the volunteer would see it when they take the Module.

Generate Link

Regular URL versus shortened URL:

If you are posting a link to your Module, you should only use the full (i.e. regular) URL. While URL shorteners are available, they should only be used if you are sending that link to someone who is about to complete your Module.
  1. Go to: Configuration >> eLearning Modules
  2. From the [Options] button to the left of a Module, select “Generate Link”
  3. Click on the “Preview” link, if desired, to see what the Module would look like to the volunteer taking it
You can also generate a link to one of your Modules by going to Configuration >> Links for Website.

View, Edit, Delete

Modules

  1. Go to: Configuration >> eLearning Modules
  2. From the [Options] button to the left of a Module, select the desired option:
    • View: shows the details of the Module and its attributes
    • Edit: make changes to the Module
    • Delete: delete the Module and all Sections associated with it

Sections

  • Go to: Configuration >> eLearning Modules
  • Click the “Hide / Show Sections” button to the left of a Module.
  • From the [Options] button to the left of a Section, select the desired option:
    • View: shows the details of the Section and its attributes
    • Edit: make changes to the Section
    • Delete: delete the Section

TIP:

You can also drag and drop Sections to re-order them in the Module.

Copy a Module

  1. Go to: Configuration >> eLearning Modules
  2. From the [Options] button to the left of a Module, select “Copy”
  3. Give the new Module a name
  4. Click the [Copy] button

Other Tutorials Related to eLearning Modules

Create a Qualification
Limited Admin Roles

Enter your keywords and press Enter.